

Minutes of Extraordinary Meeting of Council

Tuesday 12 December 2022 at 6.00pm in the Council Chamber – Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

Present: His Worshipful The Mayor, Councillor R Jones;

Deputy Mayor, Councillor Taylor;

Councillors Abrahams, Ahmed, Akhtar, Allcock, Anandou, Bhullar, Carmichael, Chapman, Costigan, Davies, Dhariwal, Dunn, Fenton, Fisher, Gavan, E A Giles, J Giles, M Gill, S Gill, W Gill, Hackett, Hartwell, Hinchliff, A Hussain, Z Hussain, Jalil, O Jones, S Jones, Kalari, Kaur, Lewis, Mayo, McVittie, Millar, Millard, Owen, Padda, Piper, Preece, Rahman, Randhawa, Rollins, Shaeen, Simms, N Singh, Smith, Trumpeter, Uddin, Wilkes and Williams.

Officers:

Surjit Tour – Director of Law and Governance and Monitoring Officer; Elaine Newsome – Services Manager – Democracy; Stephnie Hancock – Deputy Democratic Services Manager; Trisha Newton – Deputy Democratic Services Manager; Connor Robinson – Democratic Services Officer; John Swann – Democratic Services Officer; Kennedy Brown – Sergeant at Arms.

139/22 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Allen, Akpoteni, Ashman, Bostan, Chidley, Choudhry, Crompton, Dhallu, E M Giles, L Giles, G Gill, Hughes, Kausar, Khatun, Mabena, and Moore.

140/22 **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of interest were received.



















141/22 Honorary Alderwomen of the Borough

Council received the recommendations of the General Purposes and Arbitration Committee, of 24 November 2022, in relation to a nomination for Honorary Alderwoman (see Minute No. 14/22 of the Committee).

Resolved:-

- (1) that the office of Honorary Alderwomen of the Borough be conferred upon Dr Ann Jaron;
- (2) that the Director Law and Governance and Monitoring Officer, in consultation with the Mayor and Leader of the Council, be authorised to make the appropriate arrangements to implement the decision set out in (1) above.

Meeting ended at 6:08pm

Contact: democratic services@sandwell.gov.uk

















